Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all! I have been struggling to keep my water level constant because of resistance building up in my media chambers and my ATO triggering too much.

It is a fluval 13.5 and I am pretty sure it is the 3d printed media basket. It is made by 3dOcean on Etsy. It works ok so long as I change the floss every other day and keep a bare minimum of filtration in it.

I added Poly-fil to my chamber 2 the other day because my water really needed polishing (probably the baskets fault too). I am trying to keep a nice cascade going into the basket but the poly-fil made the water buildup ahead of my media basket overnight but I did add a lot of the poly-fil. Would an Intank basket likely do the same thing setup like this?

This could be some simple mistake as I am a complete beginner in the hobby and haven't really had anyone to show me the ropes.
Thanks for your help!

20220714_094603[1].jpg 20220714_094123[1].jpg 20220714_094053[1].jpg 20220714_092228[1].jpg

davidcalgary29

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You may well experience the same isues with an inTank basket, although I note that the holes in the inTank shelves that separate each chamber are larger than the ones in your picture.

I'd personally remove some of the media in your basket, and run only the floss (as a thinner layer, and possibly in the second chamber of the basket) and some carbon or chemipure. I wouldn't put anything in Chamber Two.

You should also consider upgrading the return pump in Chamber Three -- the Sicce 1.0 is great, and will provide you with sufficient flow that may help you overcome your filtration issues by itself. And do you need an ATO? I find evaporation to be minimal in my two -- I only need to top up once a week even in my Evo where I've replaced the canopy with a mesh lid.

OP
OP
S

Schulks

Review score
+0 /0 /-0