4 month tank, low ammonia levels

abizzle117

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, my 36 gallon tank is 4 months old and was cycled without fish using bottled bacteria (Dr. Tims). I have 4 small fish, about 10 snails and a tuxedo urchin. Since cycling and up until now, I've never seen any ammonia above 0ppm using the API test.

About 5 days ago, my water became cloudy and I tested for ammonia to find it at 0.25ppm. All other parameters I've tested are unremarkable. I don't believe it to be a false reading since I've tested a new batch of saltwater I made and it was clearly 0ppm.

Ammonia 0.25ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 0-5ppm
Ph 7.8 (always been low)
Alk 9
Phosphate 0-0.25ppm
Salinity 1.024

I'm certain as a newbie, I overfeed. Since finding ammonia, I've cut my feedings in half or more. As I test for ammonia throughout the day to make sure it doesn't get too high, I find that it will gradually decrease throughout the day, almost back to 0ppm. When I wake up in the morning and test, it's back at 0.25ppm. This cycle has been going on for days now.

About a week or two before the ammonia, I did introduce two new rock structures, both from Carib Sea life rock. Not sure if this is relevant but some of the posts did mention ammonia after introducing rock. I've also since introduced a nano protein skimmer that is filling my tank with microbubbles. Believe the water is still cloudy but harder to tell with all the microbubbles. I've been dosing Microbater7 for the past few days at aquarium seeding rates.

What's going on and should I do? I have some API Ammo-Lock on hand but don't want to use it if there's some type of mini-cycle going on that I need to wait out. The fish seem more or less OK, the urchin is accounted for, as are the larger snails. I can't say whether I have all my smaller snails.

Thanks in advance.

Mr Fishface

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0