Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I have a sick clownfish that's not eating and looking pale compared to my other clown. In the photo it's the top clown that's pale and sick. The eyes are darker on the healthy clown. I had a dottyback that I think was sick for a week recently and wasn't eating and was hiding under a rock. Now the dotty is back to normal the clown is sick. I don't know if they both had the same sickness or if I'm doing something that would cause it. There's no white spots on the fish. Haven't added a new fish in over a month. I added GFO 8 days ago. I also started thawing frozen food in RO water instead of saltwater to help keep the cup cleaner. I just started reefing 4 months ago and bought the fish and corals second hand so I have little experience. I don't have an ATO and top off by hand about 20 oz of rodi water daily. I add the fresh water all at once to the display tank, is that bad? The tank is 40 gallons with a 20 gallon sump. The tank looks very healthy, no algae problems or cyano. 3 year old reef with lots of big soft corals and some lps. Corals are open and vibrant. I feed only frozen mysis and nano frenzy. Is it normal for fish to get sick and not eat? Should I get vitamins or medication? Please help save my clownfish! Parameters:
Nitrates 7.2
Phosphates 0.11
Alkalinity 8.1
PH 8.2
Calcium 365
Magnesium 1360
Salinity 1.025

20230121_142242.jpg

Top Shelf Aquatics

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!

I would have been hard pressed to pick out the ailing clown from the photo if you hadn't said which one. Sometimes, issues don't show up well in photos. The not eating is a bad sign. Can you try posting a video? You Tube often is easy to do.